POTC Fansite Home POTCF Forums POTCF Gallery Blogs POTCF Arr!cade POTCF User Pages Register! Casino!

Go Back   Pirates of the Caribbean Online Fansite & Forums > POTCO Game Forums > POTCO Bugs, Barnacles, & Glitches
Blogs FAQDonate Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

Notices

POTCO Bugs, Barnacles, & Glitches Bugs? Aren't they called "features"?

Old Teleporting enemies

Login or Register now to see less ads.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2012, 05:11 AM
Xaphan.'s Avatar
Xaphan. Xaphan. is offline
Voodoo You Too.
Xaphan.'s Primary Pirate Info

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Outcast Isle
Posts: 2
My Mood: Tolerant
Xaphan. is scurvy dog
Teleporting enemies

Back in the old days I was running the lagtastic old old Port Royal on half a stick of RAM, and about 500 MB of space on my hard drive. I never had this problem


Today, with 770MB of space and 2 brand new sticks of RAM, Pirates runs so smoothly, It's unbelievable. So how come I can never hit the enemies? The enemies move around a lot, so when I slice or shoot where one is, they just disappear from their lagging spot to where they are standing right now. Not liking to turn around slowly every time I attack something, is there anything I can do to fix this problem?
  #2  
Old 12-28-2012, 07:20 PM
Platinum Pirate's Avatar
Platinum Pirate Platinum Pirate is offline
Blacksmith
Platinum Pirate's Primary Pirate Info
Awards Showcase
Pirating To The End Award Talk Like A Pirate Day 2013 Award Guess The Picture Winner's Award Super Secret Ninja Cowboy Hausfrau 2013 Award International Literacy Day 2013 Award Klingon Appreciation Day 2013 Award Party Goer's Award Patriotic Pirate's 2013 Award 
Total Awards: 31


Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Rumrunner's Isle
Posts: 498
My Mood: Woot
Platinum Pirate has disabled reputation
It's called latency, or lag. Yes, adding more RAM will show improvement. But how is your connection? Moreover, were you playing in a Full server, or an Ideal one? And where exactly in that server were you fighting these enemies? And how is your video card? You can have the most RAM and best connection, but without the best video card, your pirate will move slowly as your computer will struggle to draw every polygon there is surrounding your pirate.

Highly doubtful that the servers are the problem when they were all resat yesterday afternoon. So the problem is on your end. Perhaps you need to update the drivers or just tweak the in-game Settings. Try low. In order to help you better, we need to know what your hardware is, what operating system you have, which browser you're surfing, and which type of connection you're using.
  #3  
Old 12-30-2012, 10:38 PM
Xaphan.'s Avatar
Xaphan. Xaphan. is offline
Voodoo You Too.
Xaphan.'s Primary Pirate Info

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Outcast Isle
Posts: 2
My Mood: Tolerant
Xaphan. is scurvy dog
I tried changing from my usual Ideal server to a quiet one, and that fixed the problem. The enemies move how they're supposed to. Thanks for the advice!
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:10 PM.

POF on Facebook

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.