Trade-in games on GMG
POTC Fansite Home POTCF Forums POTCF Gallery Blogs POTCF Arr!cade POTCF User Pages Register! Casino!

Go Back   Pirates of the Caribbean Online Fansite & Forums > POTCO Game Forums > Computer Technical Support
Blogs FAQDonate Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

Notices

Computer Technical Support General & POTCO Related Software & Hardware support. Recommendations, Reviews, and so forth.

Old Runtime Error need serious help

Login or Register now to see less ads.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2013, 10:23 PM
Sondra312 Sondra312 is offline
Swabby
Sondra312's Primary Pirate Info

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Padres Del Fuego
Posts: 3
Sondra312 is scurvy dog
Runtime Error need serious help

Ok, I know this has been brought up probably hundreds of time but yet to find anything to help with it. I keep getting the runtime error every 30min - 1hr or so give to take I could be sailing, playing CD, or fighting it happens during everything. The POTC people said to update my windows or something and I did. This http://www.toshibadirect.com/td/b2c/...oid=2000044488 is the laptop I am using I just got it about 3 months ago now so I shouldn't be getting any runtime errors I don't think.

Any suggestions would be great. Thanks.
  #2  
Old 05-13-2013, 12:50 AM
Bart Blueginty's Avatar
Bart Blueginty Bart Blueginty is offline
Admiral in SvS
Bart Blueginty's Primary Pirate Info
Awards Showcase
Pirating To The End Award Talk Like A Pirate Day 2013 Award Guess The Picture Winner's Award Super Secret Ninja Cowboy Hausfrau 2013 Award International Literacy Day 2013 Award Klingon Appreciation Day 2013 Award Patriotic Pirate's 2013 Award Design A Rum Logo Participant's Award 
Total Awards: 14


Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tortuga
Posts: 214
My Mood: Piratey
Bart Blueginty is scurvy dog
Runtime errors usually occur due to unforeseen programming problems in applications that you might be using. These errors usually occur when certain conditions are true and were not actually detected and taken care of during the development of the application.

The error may occur when one of the following conditions is true:
  • Your application is not installed properly or the installation files are corrupt.
  • Certain required registry values are corrupt or missing.
  • Template objects, such as Normal.dot and Excel.xlb are corrupt.
  #3  
Old 05-13-2013, 05:33 AM
Sondra312 Sondra312 is offline
Swabby
Sondra312's Primary Pirate Info

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Padres Del Fuego
Posts: 3
Sondra312 is scurvy dog
Is there a way I can go about fixing it.
  #4  
Old 05-13-2013, 09:02 PM
Elizabeth Trueskull's Avatar
Elizabeth Trueskull Elizabeth Trueskull is offline
Swabby
Elizabeth Trueskull's Primary Pirate Info
Awards Showcase
Design A Rum Logo Participant's Award World Parrot Day 2013 Award 
Total Awards: 2


Join Date: May 2013
Location: Padres Del Fuego
Posts: 17
My Mood: Bookworm
Elizabeth Trueskull is scurvy dog
I would like to know this too as it happens to me and pretty much everyone I talk to in the game
  #5  
Old 05-14-2013, 09:08 AM
Bart Blueginty's Avatar
Bart Blueginty Bart Blueginty is offline
Admiral in SvS
Bart Blueginty's Primary Pirate Info
Awards Showcase
Pirating To The End Award Talk Like A Pirate Day 2013 Award Guess The Picture Winner's Award Super Secret Ninja Cowboy Hausfrau 2013 Award International Literacy Day 2013 Award Klingon Appreciation Day 2013 Award Patriotic Pirate's 2013 Award Design A Rum Logo Participant's Award 
Total Awards: 14


Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tortuga
Posts: 214
My Mood: Piratey
Bart Blueginty is scurvy dog
I'm not sure how to fix it, but from the information i gave i would probably say the fault lies within the programming itself. Thus it should really be down to disney to fix instead of them blaming our visual c++ or graphics card
  #6  
Old 05-14-2013, 11:53 AM
Platinum Pirate's Avatar
Platinum Pirate Platinum Pirate is offline
Blacksmith
Platinum Pirate's Primary Pirate Info
Awards Showcase
Pirating To The End Award Talk Like A Pirate Day 2013 Award Guess The Picture Winner's Award Super Secret Ninja Cowboy Hausfrau 2013 Award International Literacy Day 2013 Award Klingon Appreciation Day 2013 Award Party Goer's Award Patriotic Pirate's 2013 Award 
Total Awards: 31


Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Rumrunner's Isle
Posts: 498
My Mood: Woot
Platinum Pirate has disabled reputation
According to Microsoft,
"Runtime errors can occur if you are running two software programs that aren't compatible, if your computer has memory problems, or if the computer has been infected with malicious software."

Based on my experiences, its the second reason. At some point, the intensity of your non-stop game play will cause your OS to boot you.
  #7  
Old 05-15-2013, 12:06 AM
Sondra312 Sondra312 is offline
Swabby
Sondra312's Primary Pirate Info

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Padres Del Fuego
Posts: 3
Sondra312 is scurvy dog
Even when I just got this laptop I started getting the runtime error and haven't played anything on it before or even had other games on it yet but kept getting it. I could understand it on my old one because it was in serious need of a upgrade but this one is upgraded and up to date on everything. I tried uninstalling the game then reinstalling it but still does it. Just happened about 5 mins ago actually before coming on here.

I don't have anything else running while playing
  #8  
Old 05-16-2013, 01:18 AM
Elizabeth Trueskull's Avatar
Elizabeth Trueskull Elizabeth Trueskull is offline
Swabby
Elizabeth Trueskull's Primary Pirate Info
Awards Showcase
Design A Rum Logo Participant's Award World Parrot Day 2013 Award 
Total Awards: 2


Join Date: May 2013
Location: Padres Del Fuego
Posts: 17
My Mood: Bookworm
Elizabeth Trueskull is scurvy dog
I don't think it has anything to do with a malicious infection because like Sondra, I've heard about many others just getting new computers and it still does it. I think it's up to Disney to fix this, not us nor does it have something to do with our computers. It's getting ridiculous and frustrating.
  #9  
Old 05-16-2013, 03:40 AM
Platinum Pirate's Avatar
Platinum Pirate Platinum Pirate is offline
Blacksmith
Platinum Pirate's Primary Pirate Info
Awards Showcase
Pirating To The End Award Talk Like A Pirate Day 2013 Award Guess The Picture Winner's Award Super Secret Ninja Cowboy Hausfrau 2013 Award International Literacy Day 2013 Award Klingon Appreciation Day 2013 Award Party Goer's Award Patriotic Pirate's 2013 Award 
Total Awards: 31


Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Rumrunner's Isle
Posts: 498
My Mood: Woot
Platinum Pirate has disabled reputation
I might know what the problem is. Change the Graphics Option on your Launcher. Then launch the game. See if that works.
  #10  
Old 05-17-2013, 05:56 AM
Elizabeth Trueskull's Avatar
Elizabeth Trueskull Elizabeth Trueskull is offline
Swabby
Elizabeth Trueskull's Primary Pirate Info
Awards Showcase
Design A Rum Logo Participant's Award World Parrot Day 2013 Award 
Total Awards: 2


Join Date: May 2013
Location: Padres Del Fuego
Posts: 17
My Mood: Bookworm
Elizabeth Trueskull is scurvy dog
I tried that and I didn't get a runtime error but I still crashed.
  #11  
Old 05-17-2013, 01:49 PM
seafox's Avatar
seafox seafox is offline
Caribbean Eagles
seafox's Primary Pirate Info
Awards Showcase
Pirating To The End Award St. Patrick's Day 2011 Award Screenshot Participant's Award Happy Valentine's Day Award Guess The Picture Winner's Award 2010 Holiday Award Halloween'10 Award Caption Contest Participant's Award 
Total Awards: 13


Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sailing the Highseas
Posts: 720
My Mood: Piraty
seafox is scurvy dog
Smile

You need to empty your cache file after each game session(or during if playing a long time)...if I svs I do it during at least once during a long svs run.....its been a known issue ...hmm...for years ....

To empty the Disney cache file, I go to My Computer,,right-click C drive, open programs, scroll to Disney, open that...find Cache file....under edit, select all...under file choose delete..it will prompt you "....do you really want to delete 1700 items" or whatever yours is....say yes....this doesnt hurt anything- its freeing up game memory and helps remove corrupted files...you fill this cache up fast in potco....also when you do this note how many items you remove each time,,,the larger the number well you know you been sailing the briney seas a long, long time lol.....emptying the Disney cache file will decrease lag for lag sufferers as well.

good luck!
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:55 AM.

POF on Facebook

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.