Pirates of the Caribbean Online Fansite & Forums

Pirates of the Caribbean Online Fansite & Forums (https://www.piratesonlineforums.com/forums/index.php)
-   POTCO Mobile: Cannons Of The Deep (https://www.piratesonlineforums.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=159)
-   -   Thoughts, Observations and the Giant Octopus (https://www.piratesonlineforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12320)

ex8404 07-11-2009 02:09 PM

Thoughts, Observations and the Giant Octopus

Thoughts

I just started playing COTD three days ago. I have already earned over 26,000 gold and the only reason it is that low is because I repair my ship regularly. I have also transferred 3,000 in gold to my daughter's abandoned pirate because I was wondering just how low leveled a pirate can be and still own a war frigate...

COTD is not as much a game as it is mouse clicking for free gold. But it is also addictive. I repair my ship because the only way you can earn plunder is to fight.

I have a War Sloop, Dardanellas Guns (Damage 5. Uhmmm... 5 what?) and a Gargoyle Figurehead. I have some sheet music, some COTD treasure listed on my pirates page. I have never earned a hull larger than a War Sloop and would love a Royal Galleon or even a War Frigate....

Observations

Close-Range, Mid-Range and Long-Range seem meaningless in terms of power. Angle is critical but power seems to be random. After about 50 battles where a Close-Range ship took High Power or a a Long-Range ship took Low Power, I just decided to always start on medium power. That way, I only have to move up or down one depending on whether I overshot or undershot.

If I'm wrong, let me know...

The Giant Octopus...

I have met at least 6 Giant Octopi in the past day or two and am utterly destroyed within two or three rounds of battle.

Here is my ship layout again....

Currently Installed:
Cannons: Dardanellas Gun
Hull: War Sloop
Figurehead: Gargoyle

Any suggestions? And what do I get if I ever get him?

Anyway, thanks for reading...